Light up the magic

wpid-20150412_130858.jpg

So I had a plan. Quite a while ago, my best friend told me she liked the lampshade that I crocheted for our bedroom. So I decided I should at some point crochet one for her as well. But that took a while longer than I anticipated. When her birthday was coming up, I vouched to myself I’d get on it this time. So off I went, to the thrift shop, to find myself a couple of old lamps with lampshades I could thoroughly disect – I only needed the frame, obviously.

wpid-20150412_131745.jpg

Then I had to pick out colors. Not so easy, because my friend is quite picky and although I have a lot of yarn to choose from, a lot of it is bright bright – which, I knew, is rather a no go for her. So eventually I settled on this color combination, which in these first pictures isn’t coming out quite as realistically as in the next ones. It has a slightly hippie seventies vibe, I fear, though I was going for ‘meshes well with plants’ and ‘nice warm colors’. I wasn’t displeased with it though and the husband also gave it a thumbs up, so off we went.
wpid-20150412_144845.jpg

I didn’t use a particular pattern, it was more of a make it up as you go along. For the first lampshade I made (the one in our bedroom), I crocheted directly onto the frame. However, this didn’t work out completely well as I couldn’t crochet as tight as was needed. This time I changed it up and crocheted it free from the lampshade, constantly measuring it.

It took some tweaking, but eventually I managed to fit it all around the lampshade and finish it off! So then I took pictures in our garden. Because, er, natural light? Also a green background, seemed to fit.

wpid-20150412_193611.jpg

I like how the yellow pops. Although the dark green almost seems black in this picture. Maybe I should invest in a proper camera. Then again, that will probably end up with no blog updates at all.

wpid-20150412_193649.jpg

Does it look neat or what? I’m still not completely happy with this second try at a lamp shade – I feel the yarn is a bit too thick for the size of the lampshade. But I do like the colors and the pattern, and I did manage to get it tightly around the frame this time around. And my friend liked it! (Okay, she might’ve picked different colors herself considering this doesn’t completely fit their interior decor, but at least she liked it 😉 And she can pick the colors for the next try, if she wants.)

wpid-20150412_193942.jpg

Unnatural light!

I think my next try is going to be in the white cotton yarn, though, seeing as I have a ton of it left. I think it’ll end up very fine looking, though. I’ll keep you up to date on the progress!

Leave a Reply

