It’s growing colder 

The days are very dark. This doesn’t always make me happy, but I must admit the changing light does something to me. I love the contrasts that you get this time of year: the bright blue of the sky with the dark silhouettes, the grey water…

Some days it’s grey and wet, the hawthorn collecting droplets from the air. They look like tiny diamonds.

Sometimes it’s cold enough to frost over. One morning I caught the view just as the sun was peeking over the dike, hitting the tree tops so they turned gold.

The icy blues contrast so beautifully with the golden yellows…

If it wasn’t so bloody cold I could’ve stayed all day watching them *grin*

We also got a new chicken. It’s a bloody cheeky chicken. In a few weeks time she decided she runs the place.

This is her coming to collect her food in the mornings. I opened the blinds and apparently wasn’t quick enough in feeding them. My mistake.

She’s a stray chicken, just like the cockerel (that dark fluffy thing in the background – apparently they’re called silkies in English!). For some reason if people see a chicken wandering about their property, they hand them over to us. Last year a neighbour threw a stray chicken over the fence. Though truth be told he thought it was one of ours that escaped.

This red one strayed onto my inlaws’ property, looking rather rugged and rough. My husband came home one night from a visit to his parents: “I’ve got a present for you.” And I got handed this box with this frumpy chicken inside.

She’s been in our garden a little while and seems to clean up rather nicely. Her tail is still a bit scruffy but I’m hoping it’ll grow into its own again. And then perhaps she’ll lay some eggs for us… though it’s probably spring before we get any.

Leave a Reply

